[REVIEW] Friends: Emma's Design Studio 3936

Discuss various LEGO themes like Friends, City, Star Wars, Batman and more here.

How would you rate this set?

Excellent
100%
Average
No votes
Poor
No votes

Total votes: 7

dho7622u
Royal Guardian
Royal Guardian

[REVIEW] Friends: Emma's Design Studio 3936

Post by dho7622u » Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:56 am

Indexed

So, on a lark, I picked up the new Friends set: Emma's Design Studio 3936. As a designer myself, I was interested in what they determined what Emma would need to start her own business.

I guess my first question is: How old are these girls supposed to be? Are they old enough to work? Are these occupations fantasies? Or are they supposed to be teens? Should we call DCI?

Never the less, TLG has done a nice job in creating a great set with some playability and exciting details.

The set looks exactly like the box photo. It seems to have all the required elements:
-a cutting table with an attached ruler, lamp (which I really like), obligatory flowers
-a desk table with stool for use of the laptop
-a cupboard for fabric storage
-a step ladder/ stair
-a design board
-an MP3 tile, camera, laptop, brush, coffee cup and the weird burger thing

IMG_2709 by dho7622u, on Flickr

Over all, the pieces have nice detail and interesting colour combinations. The Cutting table is a nice size if not a little high, but i guess the step unit is useful here! The ruler is connected with a stud

The drawer unit is for fabric storage, I assume. The set includes 4 1x2 tiles that are supposed to be bolts of fabric, I guess. The brush for brushing your hair…cause that is what designers do.

The design board is nice, but wish that the printed matter were stickers and not stamped bricks/plates/tiles.

The colour selection is great and really have been looking forward to those purple 1x2s…6 OF THEM!

IMG_2711 by dho7622u, on Flickr