Beware of Flickr: Account/Group can be deleted anytime

I was stunned today when I noticed that our Flickr Group Pool got removed. No warning whatsoever. I contacted them and then they told me that our group pool was removed because it was used for “commerical purposes”. All I could see that was of commerical use is the home page link on our Flickr Group Page. But they have an area that allows you to link to an external website when administering the group. Seriously?

About Your Group

Name/URL/Description
Describe your group; link to an external website.”

What this means is beware of these third party organizations. You have no control over your account and all your pictures can be wiped out anytime at their sole discretion.  Our original group is now gone, but we’ve moved on to a new group. Lets hope they don’t remove that now.

Advertisements